Canadian American Association of Professional Baseball New Jersey Jackals Quebec Capitales Rockland Boulders Trois-Rivieres Aigles Sussex County Miners Ottawa Pro Baseball (215)




Mailing and Street Address:
1415 Hwy 54 West
Suite 210
Durham, NC 27707

Telephone: (919) 401-8150
Fax: (919) 401-8152

Year Founded:
Directors: Michel Cote, Al Dorso, Ken Lehner, Greg Lockard (Chairman), and Jean Tremblay
Opening Date: May 19, 2016
Closing Date: September 5, 2016
Regular Season: 100 games
League Members: New Jersey, Ottawa, Québec, Rockland, Sussex County, Trois Rivieres
Playoff Format:Four teams with best winning percentage quailify for postseason. Top seed  plays #4 and #2 plays #3 in a best of 5 series. Winners meet in a best of 5 Championship series.
Roster Limit: 22
Player Eligibility Rule: Minimum of five first-year players; maximum of four veterans (at least six or more years of professional service).
Brand of Baseball: Rawlings
Statistician:, 50 Minthorn Blvd., Suite 400, Thornhill, ON, Canada. L3T 7X8

Miles Wolff


Miles Wolff, the Can-Am League commissioner, founded the first modern independent league when six cities in the Upper Midwest and Canada began play in the Northern League in 1993. Under his leadership the Northern League grew to 18 teams by 2002. He is currently also commissioner of the American Association, a 13-team independent league located in the midwest United States. Wolff served as the commissioner of the Northeast League from 2003-2004, and commissioner of the Central League from 2002-2005.

Wolff was recently selected as the 79th most important person in baseball history by John Thorn and Alan Schwarz in the eighth edition of Total Baseball: The Ultimate Baseball Encyclopedia. Total Baseball was launched in 1989 and is the most compelling and exhaustive reference series ever devoted to America's pastime. Aside from Thorn and Schwarz, Phil Birnbaum, Bill Deane, Rob Neyer, Donald Dewey, Nicholas Acocella, and Peter Wayner all contributed to the most current edition.

He was selected as the one of the best owners in sports by ESPN 25, a history of the network. Written by Charles Hirshberg, the publication celebrates ESPN's silver anniversary and includes lists of best sports quotes, trades, draft-picks, nicknames, uniforms and much more. In addition to Wolff's #8 ranking , the Top Ten Best Owners List includes four Major League Baseball owners, three National Football League owners and two National Basketball Association owners.

Wolff entered baseball in 1971. His first job was general manager of the Atlanta Braves Double-A team in Savannah, Ga., where he was named The Sporting News Class AA Executive of the Year. Later he was general manager for teams in Anderson, S.C., and Jacksonville, Fla. He has also served as the play-by-play announcer for the Triple-A Richmond (Va.) Braves for one year.

In 1980, Wolff turned his attention to ownership. He purchased a Carolina League franchise and re-started the Durham (N.C.) Bulls. The team enjoyed tremendous local success initially. Ten years and one Hollywood film later, the Bulls became a national phenomenon.

Wolff has owned other professional baseball teams in Butte, MT, Asheville, NC, Utica, NY, Quebec City, QC and Pulaski, VA. He currently operates the Kansas City Royals Appalachian League affiliate in Burlington, NC. He also once owned the Raleigh (N.C) IceCaps hockey team. For 18 years he was president and publisher of Baseball America, the trade publication of professional baseball.

Wolff has written two books, Season of the Owl (1980), a novel about minor league baseball, and Lunch at the 5 & 10 (1970), an account of the 1960 Greensboro sit-ins by black students at the Woolworth's eatery. He is also the co-editor of the Encyclopedia of Minor League Baseball (1997).

Upon graduating from Johns Hopkins University with a degree in liberal arts, Wolff earned a master's degree in southern history at the University of Virginia. He served active duty as a supply officer in the U.S. Navy from 1967-70 on the USS Charles P. Cecil (DD-835) and USS Puget Sound (AD-38).

Dan Moushon is the President/COO of the Can-Am League.

Moushon began his professional baseball career for a South Atlantic League franchise in Charleston, S.C., in 1988, moved to the Springfield (Ill.) Cardinals of the Midwest League in 1989 and got his first general manager post with the Watertown (N.Y.) Indians of the New York-Penn League in 1992. He was also general manager of the Fayetteville (N.C.) Generals (South Atlantic League) from 1993-94 before taking a position as executive director of the Northern League prior to the 1995 season. From 1998-2002 he was president of the Northern League and was also president of the Northeast League in 2003-2004. He served as the Vice President of Baseball Operations for the Central League from 2002-2005. He is also currently President of the American Association. Since 1995, he has served as the Vice President of the Burlington (N.C.) Royals. He served as the Appalachian League Corporate Secretary from 1995-2001 and served as a member of the league's executive committee.

After graduating from Illinois State University with a degree in management, Moushon received a master's degree in sports management from Western Illinois University.

Jim Grillo enters his first season as Director of Umpires in the Can-Am League. Jim began his umpiring career in 2000 and joined the staff of the Can-Am League in 2007. He officiated the Cam-Am League Championship Series in 2009, 2010, and 2012. Jim has also worked in Atlantic League and the New York State League. Jim is currently on staff for three Division I Conferences in the northeast (MAAC, Ivy League, and America East) and has umpired multiple conference tournaments across all levels of college baseball. He worked the 2013 NCAA Division III Regional and seven NJCAA District Tournaments.

A 2006 Graduate of the Jim Evans Academy of Professional Umpiring, Jim earned his undergraduate degree from St. Francis College and his Masters in Sports Management from Brooklyn College. He is currently the Co-Director of Athletics at St. Edmund Prep, where he has taught since 2010.

Independent Leagues
Atlantic League American Association Frontier League
Powered by SkilTech